top of page
  • Lilian

Final Project


I had no idea what I wanted to do for this project, but I knew I wanted to make a wearable out of plastic and paper.


I thought of the idea of making a headdress after looking back at the Met Gala: Heavenly Bodies outfits. I didn't think I could get the straight and sharp radiating spires like the ones I saw there, and I wanted to have some sort of hanging aspect and flowers.



I realized I had a bunch of water bottles left over, so I wanted to utilize the abundance of material I had in my room. I cut off the top of bottles off and took the plastic wrapping off. I tried to get the adhesive off with oil but it took a shit ton of time, and there was still a thin layer of adhesive afterwards.



I cut up some pieces and hot-glued them to make a base, and added the flower. The idea was to flatten out some of the plastic with heat, but I soon learned that the plastic would crinkle under heat instead of bend.





So I had to scrap that idea.


I started off with these three materials. Using the aluminum wire (wire in the middle) I wrapped them around each other to make the corded base.





Using the paper, I made origami flowers and leaves. I poked holes on the bottom of the flowers with the annealed wire (right picture), threaded the wire through the hole and wrapped the wire around the base. I hot glued the wires onto the leaves and wrapped the wires around the base as well.






I also wanted to have something draping over the forehead, so I added two more wires that draped from under the flowers.


This is what I ended up with:





After trying it on, I thought about adding a dangling element on the draped wire. I also wanted to paint the flowers darker because they looked too in your face.




This what it looked like in the end.


TY for my friend Maggie for modeling :D



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page