top of page
  • Lilian

Desk Hooks


For this project I wanted to make something practical, and something I have been needing for my dorm are hooks to hang stuff on.








I started with this sketch. The idea was to make over-the-door hooks so that the rectangular parts would rest on my shelf and the angled part would be the hook.








I found an old project on the junk shelf that had some pretty nice wood on it so I decided to take it apart to use for this project. Silly me forgot to take a picture of it :') There were a lot of screws, so I spent a good hour taking them out with a screwdriver because I couldn't find a Philips head driver bit. feelsbadman



This is what I started out with, the four long pieces coming from the old project and the medium sized piece from the free wood bin in the shop.






I took to the band saw and cut up the pieces I needed for the project. Starting from the top. The smallest piece would be the piece that rests directly on top of the shelf which would be glued to the second row piece and the fourth row pieces. For the third row pieces, I used the miter saw to get an angle on both sides to create the hook.







I cut the wood at a 30 degrees, but the piece was too small to cut all the way through so I had to improvise and put a piece of wood on either side to stabilize the wood when I cut them.





After cutting them all up, sanded the pieces a bit to get rid of some excess material. Then I glued the pieces together using wood glue and used a clamp to press the pieces together.







This is what they looked like after gluing them together.




Next I went to the sander and stayed there for a very long time to smooth out the edges and get rid of some excess material on the sides. I didn't sand them evenly so there are definitely not symmetrical or identical.




Some thing I wished I did was to glue the pieces before sanding them because after sanding them down, some of the sides weren't lining up. I also wished I hadn't sanded so much for the final step because I really messed up some of the edges. I also made a mistake while gluing the pieces together. I meant to glue the long and medium piece to the small piece from the layered looking side, but I accidentally glued it to the flatter grain side. Because of this, the hooks didn't quite fit on my shelf, but i would they could be flipped for the same effect. I managed to fit one of them on properly.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page