top of page
  • Lilian

Playground

What I have so far:

This week, I worked on finishing the sequence in the city, from backing away from the door, the door opening and then walking into the abyss. The sequence comprised of only camera movement and the door itself rotating, but the hardest part was figuring out the timing. Since I was using Blender, which I could not import music into, I was struggling to match the animation with the music. Furthermore, I spent so much time waiting for the sequence to render even though I didn't have nearly as much trouble rendering my previous sequences. I ended up splitting the sequence into two parts: the zoom out and door opening as one and then the entrance through the door as another. After rendering each sequence, I played around the with duration of the frames to match the timing of the music.


For the sequence with the mannequins, I struggled a lot with timing and the character animations. The model that I found online came with a rig, and I tried to figure out how to animate the armature with little success. At the time, I was way too tired to go through tutorials, so I decided to just upload it to Mixamo, found a few animations I liked, imported the character with animations into Blender and deleted keyframes I didn't need. Then came the timing of the camera movement and the head turn. I found a work around in my workflow that allowed me to match the timing without rendering the sequences. Instead, I would screen record the animations and import the screen recordings into After Effects to match it with music. After watching it with music, I would make adjustments in Blender and repeat the process.


I didn't get to finish everything I had planned for which is a bit disappointing, but overall I'm pretty happy with what I made so far. There were a lot of post processing things I wanted to do, like adding in glitched frames, to give the entire animation a more cohesive look, but I think if I continue to work on it, I would focus first on finishing the verse, then the chorus, and then post processing.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page