top of page
  • Lilian

Paperfolding Experimentation

I did 3 experiments this week, inspired by 3 different paper folding concepts we discussed in class: tessellation, the Turkish map fold, and kusudama.



I was immediately fascinated with tessellations and wanted to challenge myself to do 8 columns instead of 4. Then I decided to make another 8 column one cuz I hate myself I guess.

I wanted to see how they would layer on top of each other and see if I could make a vessel by layering and gluing small pieces of them together. It didn't quite work. The two pieces of paper wouldn't quite open up because of the tessellated pattern, but there were small slips of paper on the side that could be used to glue pieces together (if they weren't folded).






Then I looked at the Turkish map fold. I saw in the examples that there were some units glued horizontally to each other to create a line of folded units, and I wondered whether units could also be glued to the top and bottom as well. It was a cool idea at first but then trying to understand how it would unfold was a little weird because it didn't fold and unfold as cleanly.


Lastly I wanted to make a kusudama ball inspired/for Lunar New Year. I wanted to make a fully red flower ball, but I ran out of paper, so I only made half. I painted the edges of the petals and the centers of them to create more depth and texture, and I plan to make the other half and add some string so that I could hang it up for decoration.

Making it was kinda hard because it would be really hard to hold the pieces together as the glue set, so I ended up holding them together with paper clips and leaving it overnight to dry.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page