top of page
  • Lilian

Paper Cutting: Paper Lantern



I found this paper lantern pattern on Pinterest, and I just used my screen to trace it (kind of a nightmare ngl).

Since there are 4 sides to the lantern, I wanted to do something that had 4 different elements, so I chose seasons.


I found a few patterns online, one for each season, on each panel and drew them out.

(I did the top separate from the bottom, so I don't have a picture of the sketch together :') but here's a version with all of it cut). The pattern is backwards because I didn't want the pencil to show.


I did a small experiment with the cutting to see what would be my positive and negative. Since I wanted to add a light in the lantern and also some translucent paper, I decided to go with the pattern itself being the part I cut out.


After cutting everything and gluing it together, I noticed that the template I drew was not super clean because the top triangles didn't quite line up properly :/


I didn't get a chance to find translucent paper, so it's kind of hard to see the individual patterns, but here's all of them.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page