top of page
  • Lilian

Cursed AR: Thanos Dancing

I don't really know where exactly I found these videos, but through the magics of the Internet I found these funny/cursed videos of Thanos and Disney princes dancing to kpop songs.


Feast your eyes on:

With body tracking, I wanted to recreate a similar experience through AR, so that anyone could use it and make Thanos or their favorite characters dance.


I found a Thanos model on Sketchfab and rigged it using the Apple robot skeleton. It took a few times to figure it out because some of the models had some weird stuff happening to them once I rigged them, but I eventually got to a decently moving rig after a bit of weight painting.

The real issues came when I tried to send it to Reality Converter. For some reason the materials despite being fairly saturated as jpegs came out extremely washed out in Reality Converter and became almost completely white when I put them in XCode.

I also added two unattached characters to the left and right of the camera anchor so that it looked like a trio of Thanoses dancing.


The result came out just about as funny as I expected, but I really wish the materials were there so that you could distinguish the model as Thanos and differentiate the 3 from each other when they overlap.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page