top of page
  • Lilian

Unintentionally Numerical Earrings

When thinking of smaller scale items, one of the first things that comes to mind is accessories and other wearables such as rings, earrings, pendants, necklaces, etc. Whenever I'm shopping for earrings, I often find it hard to find the perfect pair. Some will have cool designs but are far too large, and small ones are sometimes too simple or boring. So if you're unhappy with the selection, time to make your own, am I right? Right? Yeah. Well I tried. They look alright, but I honestly didn't realize they looked like the number 5 until halfway through. :')


I started with a sketch of the profile of the earrings.

And from the sketch I extruded it to the the desired width.

Next, I need to add the rod that would go into your ear, so I created a sketch of a circle...

used the press/pull modifier to pull the circle out, and filetted the end of the role to soften the edge.

Next came the back of the earring. I started with a sketch of the profile and...

revolved it to create the body of the earring back.

I once again applied filet to the edges to soften them.

Using the combine modifier, selecting the cut option, I cut a hole through the back of the earring so that the rod could fit through. I also scaled the earring back by 1.1 to allow the rod to more easily slide through (in theory).

From there, I copied the earring body and back creating another set.

I noticed the bottom of the earring was rather sharp, so I used the split modifier to cut a small slice off the bottoms and fileted the bottom to round it out.

At the very end, I used the filet modifier on all the edges to round them out.

Here's a 3 inch cube for size reference.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page