top of page
  • Lilian

Final Project


Whoopsies. I forgot to take progress pictures, so here's a bunch of small drawings of what I did to make the wooden shelf.






I started off with two panels of wood. One 12"x24"x1/8" and one 12"x24"x1/4".











I measured off the pieces for the shelf and cut them with the band saw.





After cutting them, I glued some of the pieces together to create extra thickness for certain parts of the shelf and clamped them together.


While assembling, I realized I didn't quite measure out all the pieces, so I measured them out and went to cut them, but sadly apparently we weren't supposed to be using the band saw due to lack of ventilation, I hand sawed the few remaining pieces.


After lots of sanding the smaller parts down. I began to glue and assemble the part, clamping them together.


I realized the edges of the shelf were very rough and jagged, so I went to the belt sander and sanded until the sides were smooth.


During the process of trying to fit the pieces together. I quickly realized that one of my brackets didn't quite fit because the two pieces on the side were too thick.

So I took the dremel and sanded the inside of the pieces until the bracket fit.

I also used sandpaper to sand down the 3D printed pieces and to touch up on the sanding for the shelf itself.


Here are all the final pieces together.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page